Foodventure

Foodventure: Ooma Japanese Rice Bar by Chef Bruce Ricketts

ooma001a

I love Japanese cuisine. In fact, one of the things that’s on my bucketlist is to eat Japanese food in Japan. I did and I’ve never been happier. When I returned to Manila, I truly miss eating sushi, maki, udon, ramen, and the rest goes on. My cravings never seized in fact, they became more pronounced and demanding. Ok, so much for my back story.

A friend and I stumbled upon, Ooma Japanese Rice Bar located in Mega Fashion Hall, SM Megamall. I love the ambiance of this place – casual and fun, and at the same time big enough, which meant that tables aren’t packed too closely to each other giving patrons plenty of privacy and it’s not that too noisy compared to other restaurants.  By the way, I’ve already been here twice.

ooma007

The menu had a great selection of meat and fish dishes, and there is definitely something for everyone. The staff were very helpful in explaining the menu and making recommendations.

ooma001
Scallop and Tuna Aburi Maki (P 395)
Torched scallop, tuna, cucumber, sesame seeds, nori crumbs, Scallion, Teriyaki suace, spicy mayo, Kimchi aioli

ooma005
California Taco-Maki (P 135)
Open-faced temaki wrap, Kani stick, Aligue mayo, Herb Aioli, Mango pico

ooma003
Gyudon (P 289)
Sous-vide beef short plat, fresh mushroom, fried shallot, fresh egg, house tare

ooma002
Oyako Don (P 289) 
Smoked sous-vide chicken, fresh mushroom, onion, fresh egg, crispy check skin, house tare

ooma004
Half-baked choclate lava cake (P 185)

As we ate our dinners, I spied around at the meals being delivered to the other happy diners and think I detected a trend – very generous portion sizes especially their udons.

My Favorites: 
I already tried their Buta Kakuni Katsudon (P289), Tori Udon (395), Salmon Skin Aburi Maki (265) and Ebi and Kani Aburi Maki (265). They’re also good but the food featured above are my favorites. 🙂

You can always know the quality of the food you eat. Overall, I think this Japanese restaurant is worth visiting if you haven’t been here.

Bon appétit, mon chéri!

OOMA JAPANESE RICE BAR
Address: Third Floor, Mega Fashion Hall, SM Megamall, Ortigas, Mandaluyong City
Contact No.: (02) 656-4591
Operating Hours: 10 am to 10 pm (Mon- Sun)

One thought on “Foodventure: Ooma Japanese Rice Bar by Chef Bruce Ricketts

Leave a Reply

