Life / Travel

12 Life Lessons that I’ve Learned from Traveling

pollyfalls001
Maribina Falls, Virac

It’s no secret that traveling opens our eyes, but today I’ll be sharing with you how traveling has changed me… for the better. I used to be a very rigid person, but traveling has helped me loosen up and expand my horizon. I’ve pushed myself to the limit, eaten new food, learned new dialect, conquered my fear of heights, overall it helped me break out of my comfort zone and enjoy what the world has to offer. Here are 12 life lessons that traveling has taught me.

1. I learned to live in the moment.
“People wait all life for happiness” doesn’t make sense and is also wrong. For me, being able to relax, conscious and aware of the present with all of your senses and appreciate every breath, every second, every event that takes place in our lives is happiness.

earthday010Caramoan, Camarines Sur

2. I learned to value experience over things.
The emotional half life of material things is very short. Buyer’s remorse sets in quickly. Experiences are something entirely different. For me, knowledge, skills, experience, times spent with other people and doing something new or exciting are far more valuable. It will broaden your perspective and change the way you view the world.

3. I Learned to be more open to different ways of life.
Being exposed to many situations or having met people from all walks of life, I was able accept those differences with more meaning. I have become more tolerant accepting other cultures even adapting some of their ways into my own life. Accepting diversity allowed me to learn new concepts, values, behaviors leading to thinking deeper, more complex and creative ways, rather than furthering past idea and attitudes.

earthday005
Mactan Island, Cebu

4. I learned to pack like a boss.
Pack Your Bags Light: Yes, you are required to carry your own bag throughout your travel. So make it comfortable and light. The smaller it is the less it sticks outs and the less vulnerable you feel. The closer you can stick to it and less cumbersome it is the happier you will be.

5. I learned that we are never alone.
No matter where you are, you are never alone even if you’re traveling solo. You will inevitably meet a lot of interesting people on trips, whether you seek them out or just interact with locals.

earthday011
Puraran Island, Catanduanes

6. I learned that people are good in nature.
I believe that most people are good in general and friendly – it’s how they display those attributes and how we interpret them that vary quite a bit. When you travel you find out that they aren’t the minority – the world is full of good, honest, kind people.

7. I learned that it’s good to try new things.
It is good to try new things, immerse yourself in experiences and have a go at starting some things. It’s good to change things up or else you’ll get bored out of your mind. As Paulo Coelho said, “If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine; it is lethal.” So go ahead and do it!

earthday001Diguisit Rock Formations, Baler

8. I learned to be (more) adventurous.
The idea of jumping off a cliff is scary as hell to many and exciting to others. Like life, not everyone can be extraordinary, because not everyone has the guts to step out of the comfort zone, face the harsh realities, and make the necessary changes. Be more adventurous, take risks and try new things. Live life to the fullest with fewer regrets.

earthday014
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro

9. I learned not to be cheap.
Being cheap can lead to a costly accident. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about being thrifty. But cheap? No thanks. I believe in getting what I really want, and sometimes that means spending the money and getting the best one for your buck. Buying the cheaper thing, most often you end up with lesser quality and having to replace the item sooner.

earthday003
Mt. Batulao, Nasugbu Batangas

10. And not to be wasteful.
You might be wasting your money on several little things without even realizing it. Save your resources for when they are truly needed. Also, don’t throw out perfectly usable supplies.

earthday013
Cagbalete Island, Mauban, Quezon Province

11. I learned the importance of wearing more sunscreen.
Too much exposure to the ultraviolet (UV) rays of the sun or a sunlamp can cause redness, soreness, itching, and sometimes blistering – this is called sunburn. Be sensible and don’t ruin your holiday the first time you go to the beach.

earthday012
Island Garden City of Samal, Davao del Norte

12. Most importantly, I learned more about myself.
You learn to have patience with the things that are out of your control (like delays, weather, etc) and you learn not to waste your patience with the things that don’t deserve it (like certain attitudes, intolerance, etc). You also learn to be self-reliant, independent, and you’re more resourceful than you thought especially when you travel alone. You discover what your “real” likes and dislikes without much influence or peer pressure. You’ll figure out what you truly need, how to get them and that it is possible to get them. Lastly, you’ll learn to love yourself more and have compassion for everyone you meet in your journey.

Leave a Reply

