TILT

TILT: And there you go with your mind games, treacherous, sadistic little Bobblehead!

tilt11aug2014on a Monday!

3:00 AM blogging on a Monday. Not normal, you say? I agree. I can’t sleep, so I have given up trying.  I’m not used to blogging on a Monday (especially, at 3:00 AM), but while I’m here – let’s make this post a fun one! 

My kind of movie ranges from Classic (old Hollywood) to suspense thrillers, but my favorite is anything  that plays with your mind, confuses you, and leads you on. The kind of ending that swoops in from some direction no one is looking and switches the story up. I’m a sucker for mind-twisting plots and/or addictive climatic cliff hangers.

Here’s a list of my all-time favorite movies that I think are twisted in their own ways. Enjoy!

thegodfather

The Godfather

Mario Puzo, Francis Ford Coppola

If I could rate this movie with ten stars, I wouldn’t. It deserves 100 stars! This is one movie that should forever be rated as one of the top ten movies of all time!

The Godfather is one of those rare times where everything works perfectly where each scene flows easily to the next. From it’s incredibly well-scripted opening scene to its last closing image. It deals with very basic things: family, power, vengeance, corruption, strangers in a strange land, the aged king passing crown and sword to his son. Of course there is violence and when it comes on strong, but the heart of this film is in the performances of every person in this film.

One of the most amazing performances is Marlon Brando’s portrayal of Don Vito Corleone. He isn’t on-screen very long, but leaves us with one of the most unforgettable and powerful characters in the history of film. Al Pacino as Michael grabs the viewer with such an unnerving intensity. What I don’t like about the films is, there are a lot of characters popping up and the movie may seem confusing and all.

To finish, I want to say that this is not a crime film or an action film, it has those elements in the plot, but its basically a movie about family and the succession of power through the generations. `The Godfather’ remains one of the most moving movies of all time and will always remain as my all-time favorite.

divider002

hlecter

The Silence of the Lambs

Jonathan Demme

It is a film that haunts it’s viewers for a long time after seeing it. The imagery is very strong throughout the movie. The violence is intense, but definitely not gratuitous. I am a real mood and atmosphere person. That is one of the things I notice when I watch a movie, it’s atmosphere. In thirty minute of screen time, Hopkins manages to make your skin crawl. He brings to the screen everything evil, and uses his words and looks to scare all those caught in his gaze silent. Lecter is what sticks with you about the film. Foster does a great job as troubled FBI agent Clarice Starling. She makes a strong counterpoint to Lecter. The movie deals with fears and it lets you use your imagination while watching. I never get tired of watching this movie, I can watch it as though I had never seen it before, It still scares the hell out of me.

divider002

perfume001

Perfume: Story of a Murderer

Tom Tykwer

Perfume was a very odd and disturbing movie. The real reason I watched it was because it is different. It’s very hard to find good movies that are different.  Jean-Baptiste Grenouille was born with a very special gift. His sense of smell. He was able to smell things that very few of us can.

But he was so obsessed with capturing smells, that he killed so that he could hold on to that smell. In the one scene, it seems that he created a perfume that was so captivating, so hypnotic that people who smelled it were put under some sort of spell.

I understand that the chilling and disturbing is not for some people and that is ok, you most likely won’t enjoy this movie then. But if you are like me and are captivated by psychosis and the investigation of evil (i.e. Silence of the Lambs) then this movie is certainly for you.

I really hope this movie gets the attention and credit it deserves. It’s a work of art.

 divider002

se7en001

Se7en

David Fincher

Seven is about two detectives who are on the case of an ingenious killer who finds ways to make his victims die by the seven deadly signs gluttony, greed, sloth, lust, envy, pride, and wrath. as they get closer in honing in on the killer they soon realize the killer is approaching them.

What really makes it stand out from all the films with similar premises, though, is the villain – easily the most disturbing killer since The Silence of the Lambs. His methods and motives are unusual and deeply frightening – painstakingly methodical and sadistic. Even more interestingly, he is deeply, self-righteously, and thus hypocritically religious and plans his mayhem accordingly.

I would not recommend this movie for the faint heart. It could be Brad Pitt’s best. The scariest and by far most disgusting movie I’ve ever see.

divider002

machinist

The Machinist

Brad Anderson

It is the most unsettling, disturbing and bizarre film I have seen so far. Christian Bale is shocking to see in this film about a man who is skeleton-thin and sleep-deprived due to mysterious causes. As his character Trevor explores the strange goings-on that threaten to close in around him, the viewer is inexorably drawn in and dragged along. How was he able to physically achieve the emaciated and strung-out look of an insomniac on the edge of psychosis? This film shows his incredible range as an actor. It is well worth watching but not before bedtime.

divider002

fightclub001

Fight Club

David Fincher

This is one insane movie. I think it takes an insane person to even make a movie like this. Awesome in its scope and unflinching under scrutiny, Fight Club simply is a treat for the scores of burned out consumers to hemmed up by all the BS to do something about it. I found the performances of Edward Norton and Brad Pitt to be nothing less than what I anticipated they would be: outstanding. My favorite scene was the one where Norton beats up himself in order to make his boss give him paychecks without working.

Unlike most girls, I love violent, in-your-face movies, and “Fight Club” was no exception. I was amazed at the brilliant fight scenes. This is one of those movies that you have to see to believe and is one of those underrated movies that people will see only for Brad Pitt, but there is so much more to it than that. If you enjoy complicated, beautiful-but-violent movies, this is perfect for you. escapism at its best!

I turned into a Chuck Palahniuk fan and finished reading Choke and Fight Club and now reading Survivor.

polly-001

Leave a Reply

